top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngela Lawrence

Art In Space: Curved Lights

Updated: Jan 3, 2023


3D Modeling & Rendering

GOAL

Practice the photographic approach to 3D modeling— FOCUSED ON LIGHT OBJECTS IN ENSCAPE

MATERIALS

SKETCHUP

ENSCAPE

LIGHTROOM

PHOTOSHOP


REFERENCE PHOTO


I chose this photo because I needed a minimal scene that allowed me to focus on the lighting in the space and it’s angles and how it appears against objects and surfaces.

Original image sourced from Pinterest. Uploaded by Fiona Wang. Link


TAKEAWAY


This project allowed me to continue practicing building curved objects in SketchUp which is good because my designs tend to be more organic than super geometric. What was great was during trial, errors, and looking up how to do things I learned about a new extension called SketchPlus. It has some tools that add ease to the building process by not having to do super tedious things like building walls one by one or doing an array. More about the fun of array in the next entry.


My biggest challenge during this project was patience.


One instance was when there was a bug that happened while I was rendering in Enscape. It kept closing out my whole file once I clicked render. I could have easily gotten frustrated and stopped but instead, I contacted Enscape and sent a report. Since I couldn’t render I asked myself “what can I still work on?”


SketchUp was still working well so I told myself to build! I ended up starting my next project which allowed me to practice array and get more comfortable with SketchUp. Here’s a sneak peek.


The second time my patience was tested was trying to get the curved light to show up evenly. I experimented with the object lights in Enscape and with self-eliminated surfaces. I found the object lights to be brighter and more accurate. I had to keep repositioning them to get an effect that was similar to the reference photo.


After looking at the reference photo and my render side by side I realized I had too much space between the sphere objects and the wall light. Accurate positioning is something I will pay more attention to in the future. View the comparison below.

Personal Note: Figure out how to render high-quality images from Enscape.

(keep as an ongoing note until you actually research high-quality render exporting)


VIEW MY PRESENTATION STYLE IN THIS BLOG POST

To view in Full Screen: Click once, then click the double expanding arrows at the top left corner.


Thanks for joining my 3D journey! I am excited to see what else we get into. Until next time!

-A

6 views0 comments
bottom of page